Tourisme La-Roquette-Sur-Siagne

See the video in FSL: 

The commune of La Roquette-sur-Siagne is divided into two distinct areas, the higher ground where the village and parish church are and the lower ground alongside the Siagne and Béal canals. The commune can boast of a long and rich history. The discovery of a Gallo-Roman necropolis shows shows that tracks and roads across the territory of La Roquette must have existed in Antiquity. In the Middle Ages, the territory belonged to the abbey of Lérins. It consisted of the castrum Rochetta, a fortified village probably in les Roques, and the Siagne plain, which at that time was suitable for farming. Following the epidemics and wars of the fourteenth and fifteenth centuries, it was left completely deserted. La Roquette was then long considered an “ uninhabited ” territory. Unlike the neighbouring lands, no attempt was made to repopulate the commune. The Siagne plain became insalubrious. Diseases made it impossible to live here and difficult to farm. Despite a high mortality rate the population grew in the seventeenth century, but it wasn’t until the eighteenth century that La Roquette really turned a page in its history. A settlement act passed by Philippe de Vendôme, abbot of Lérins, dated January seventeen fourteen, makes provision for the building of a new village far from the polluted plain. The inhabitants of the old bastides of Mouans and Mougins moved to the new village. In eighteen twenty-five, work was done to return the bed of the river Siagne to the level it had been at in the Middle Ages. Nevertheless, in the nineteenth century many people left the rural commune for the cities and it wasn’t until the early twentieth century that the Plain, which was by then fit for human habitation, began to fill up with people and the village emptied out. Although the village is really just a single street, it is worth a visit!

Practical information La-Roquette-Sur-Siagne

La Roquette-sur-Siagne Tourist Office
888, Avenue de la République
06550 La Roquette-sur-Siagne
Tel./Fax: +33 (0)4 92 19 13 43
Website: www.laroquettesursiagne.com
Email: tourisme@laroquettesursiagne.com

There is currently no content classified with this term.

Chapelle Saint-Jean
Tourrettes-Sur-Loup

Ses fresques de style naif sont l'oeuvre de Ralph Soupault qui s'est inspiré de la vie quotidienne des villageois.

Chateau De Mouans-Sartoux
Mouans-Sartoux

Reconstruit au XIXème siècle d'après son plan original, le château sis dans un très beau parc, a été reconverti en Musée de l'Art Concret.

Eco-Musee Celestin Freinet
Gars

Cet éco-musée de compose de 2 salles d'exposition :- une salle consacrée aux outils anciens- une salle consacrée à Célestin Freinet, natif de Gars.

Eglise Romane Notre Dame De L'assomption
Brianconnet

A voir le Retable de la Vierge au Rosaire (1513) de Louis Bréa. La Vierge et l'Enfant sont entourés d'anges musiciens.

Eglise Saint-Gregoire
Tourrettes-Sur-Loup

Elle fut agrandie en 1551 à l'emplacement d'une église romane du XIIe siècle. L'entrée actuelle est d'un style Romano-Renaissance.

Eglise Saint-Jacques Le Majeur
Le-Bar-Sur-Loup

A voir le retable etlt;ietgt;Saint Jacques-le-Majeuretlt;/ietgt; de Louis Bréa (vers 1500).Avec ses 4 m de haut, ses 14 panneaux, ses 3 registres superposés, et son "revers" si rarement c

Espace De L'art Concret
Mouans-Sartoux

C'est dans l'enceinte d'une merveille architecturale du XVIème siècle, le Château de Mouans-Sartoux, que vous découvrirez ce centre dédié à l'art concret sous toutes ses formes.

Grotte De Baume Obscure - Le Souterroscope
St-Vallier-De-Thiey

A 20 km de Grasse, c'est dans un espace naturel préservé que se cache un véritable joyau de la nature : Baume Obscure et sa rivière souterraine !

Grottes De Saint Cezaire
St-Cezaire-Sur-Siagne

Située en Pays de Grasse, à près de 40 mètres sous terre, la grotte de Saint-Cézaire est ouverte au public toute l'année.

Jardin Du Chateau De Mouans-Sartoux
Mouans-Sartoux

Le parc du Chet#226;teau de Mouans fait l'objet d'un réaménagement dans le cadre d'une commande publique de la Ville à Gilles Clément avec l'aide du ministère de la Culture et d

Pages